“The mission of the Newton County Parks and Recreation Board is to partner with the Indiana Department of Natural Resources and other agencies to develop educational and recreational opportunities for the citizens of Newton County and the region.”



The Newton County Parks and Recreation Board was first established in 1985 by the Newton County Council. The board was given the power to acquire and develop sites, facilities, and park programs.

Monthly meetings are generally focused on event planning, and creating partnerships. Newton County does not have a dedicated tax rate for parks, so the Park Board must prepare and submit an annual budget to the county council.



Fishing Derby and Ice Fishing Derby

The Newton County Park Board holds two fishing derbies during the year: the Fishing Derby held in June and the Ice Fishing Derby held in February. Both events are held at Willow Slough Fish and Wildlife Area. The fishing derbies are considered the most popular events sponsored by the Park Board possibly due to the low registration costs and prizes.

Cycling Events

We have held three cycling events since 2018 on various routes to great success. The Park Board is working to get designated cycling routes. 

Run/Walk Events

The Park Board regularly sponsors or spearheads local run/walk events, this includes the Newton County Run Series. 

Earth Night at the Fair

The Park Board partners with Newton County Soil and Water for Earth Night at the Newton County Fair. This 


The Park Board consists of five members who serve four year terms. Two members are appointed by the judge of the circuit court, two members are appointed by the county council, and one member is appointed by the county commissioners. Additionally, a county extension agent or member of the county extension committee may serve as an ex officio member having all the rights of regular members. The Park Board meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 pm in the Morocco Government Center, located at 4117 South 240 West in Morocco, Indiana. The current Newton County Park Board consists of the following members:


Gus Nyberg, President

Becca Dearduff, Vice President

Josh Holloway, Treasurer

Jenn Whaley

Ex-Officio: open

Non Member:

Sara DeYoung, Event Coordinator